The First Day

by Julia Othmer. Directed by Jena Serbu

For more information on Julia Othmer visit:


“My God – I’m shaking, have goose bumps, and am completely speechless. This video is amazing.” – Lisa Lukens

“It is so powerful…just amazingly moving. I can’t say enough about it. Thank you for doing this–especially for the veterans who need help.” – Mike Tucci, Veteran

“Very few things can soothe the savage beast. This worked.” – Freddy Cordova, NVF counselor and a veteran of four tours in Iraq

“This video encompasses all the emotions of the ones left behind after the 9/11 attacks. It made me feel more connected then i have ever been before.” – Donna Navarro, Specialist -91C- Combat Army Medic

“That is a beautiful song. Really gorgeous. The video is really moving. thank you for sharing it with us.” – Bruce Greenwood, Actor/Artist

The short film/video which accompanies her re-recording of, “The First Day” (a song she wrote almost a decade ago on the evening of the disaster) has moved the Directors of The NATIONAL VETERANS FOUNDATION (888)777-4443 and we are linking with this organization as well as The National Alliance on Mental Illness to help raise funds and spread awareness. We would love your input on where and how this incredibly moving piece of meaningful artwork can be seen and shared.


Thank you everyone who made the fundraising a success, we are overwhelmed with gratitude


Ryan Scott & Lea Scott. Photo by Rita Squitiere.


Julia Othmer Photo by Rita Squitiere

Ryan Scott Photo by Rita Squitiere
Julia Othmer
Shane Borth – Violin
Mike Kennedy – Guitar
Ryan Scott – Boy
Lea Scott – Girl
Arizona Cassidy – woman in bedroom
Andrea Havens – Mother
Keith Lerner – Father
Simone Makadia – Comforter
Courtney Alston – Woman in Kitchen
Cameron Munsen – Father on Balcony
Trey Bui – Child in Window
Tyrone Holt – Man in Mirror
Julia Othmer – Vocals Piano
Shane Borth – Violin
Johnny Griparic – Bass
Alan Mirikitani & Dawghouse Studios
Lee Spath – drums and Percussion
David Raven – drums and percussion
Randy Mitchell – Guitar
Jena Serbu – Director
Dawn M. Smith – Producer
Matt Joffe – DP
Phil Tartaglione – Gaffer
Tim Kemper – Grip
Sonic Kim – Grip
Rita Squitiere – Art Direction / Costume Design
Madison Rupert – Make-up
Jena Serbu – Editor
Cory Greiner – Camera PA
Melody Tash – Camera PA
Bill Grove – Set Construction / Artist
Jesse Hegney – 2nd Camera / Set Construction
David Maurio – Special Effects
Arizona Cassidy – Craft Services
Chris Arney – Script Supervisor
John Desena – Storyboards
Chris Galanti – PA
Jordan Stalsworth – PA
Zach Luneau – PA
Joe Aycox – PA


Herb and Bonnie Buchbinder
Mario Balbi
Abdi Nazemian
Alex Chambers
Allison Lindemann
Amy Dusch
Angela Gardner
Barbara Lehrman
Beth Wexler
Betsy Salkind
Bino Gopal
Brandi Reichen
Brea Bee
Camilla Edberg
Charles Pendleton
Charles Porter
Conner Hallock
Crafty Stealth
Dawn Ellis
Drew Katzman
ED Hose
Ekkehard Othmer
Emma Hallock
Gabe DeArmond
Gabe Turzo
Gavin Hallock
George and Melissa Stratts
Glenna Haley
Harvey Saferstein
Hoagy Wing
Hazel Stringham
Holly Hutchko
Iya Ritchie
J. Philipp Othmer
Jack and Karen Holland
Picture Hills Psychiatric Center
James Duncan Smith
Jeannie Swafford Rhodes
John Small
Julia Lawson
Karen Neuberg
Kathleen Wilkinson
Ken Smith
Kim Shaw
Konstantin Othmer
Lauren Bamber
Linda Yee
Lisa Lukens
Louis Grandrino
Lynette Williams
Mark A Dahl
Mark Huffhines
Mason Hallock
Michael Tucci
Miki Swarthout
Onofrio & Renee deGennaro
Oscar Torres
Charisa Harmon
Ricardo Barros
Robin Purcell
Ron Torten
RoseAnn Inzenga
Sandra Fairon & Bruce Leak
Sarah I.E. Monstah
Shari Center
Sieglinde C Othmer
Stephen London
Steve DeHart
Susan Hubbard
Susan Lynch Killoran
Tammy Parsons/ B-Vogue Salon
Thomas E Jenkins
Tim Michel
Tony Lear
Tony Romano
Victoria Howard
Young Sohn
Jordan Stalsworth
Aline Serbu and John Offner